8 April 2020

When a spirit-demon attacks their village, Ayelen Zyanya knows it is her duty as a Dream Walker to stop it, and neither her Spaniard husband, Ciro, nor her twin brother Mattias will stop her. But facing the creature will cost her something precious, if she survives.


Guardian is available for free to newsletter subscribers via Bookfunnel here

Or on Amazon here.

Guardian is a Daughter of Zyanya Novella

Mariah doesn't believe in fate, but when a handsome English sailor steps into her life she might have to reconsider.

She doesn’t believe in fate.Mariah, the impulsive daughter of a wealthy merchant in colonial Maracaibo, can't do anything right. Most of all, she wants to live up to the memory of her deceased mother, a mysterious woman she never knew. But between the handsome young man her father has hired to protect her from his enemies and her strange new dreams that hint at a greater destiny, Mariah struggles to find her place.


He doesn’t want any entanglements.

Michael, an English sailor, is looking for a new start in life far away from the betrayals that haunt him, and the quaint, tropical port of colonial Maracaibo appears to be the perfect place. Leaving everything behind him, and adopting a new name Michael - now Miguel - hires on as a bodyguard for a local merchant’s daughter. It sounds straightforward enough, but life at sea has taught him that nothing is ever as simple as it seems.

Despite herself, Mariah is unable to resist Miguel's charming allure, even as he finds himself drawn to her. But outside forces pull them apart and dangerous enemies threaten Mariah's life. Will they learn to trust each other or will she push him away for good?

This historical-fantasy is rich with imagery of life in old Maracaibo. A beautiful coming of age story that will pull you into a mysterious adventure world. Aura of Dawn is the fantastic origin story of Miguel and Mariah, and companion prequel to the
Daughter of Zyanya .

Available now on Amazon.


29 Aug 2016 - re-released July 2020

Mariah wants nothing more than a quiet life with Miguel,

but fate has other plans.


Mariah, the daughter of a wealthy 18th century Spanish merchant in colonial Maracaibo, is ready to start her new life with with her soulmate, Miguel. But fate has other plans for her. Tensions are rising between the Spanish colonists and the native Wayuu people, threatening the peaceful future Mariah has planned.

When Mariah learns she is the center of an ancient Wayuu prophecy to destroy a pair of vampires haunting the land, she

doesn’t believe it. As her world falls apart, one bit at a time, Mariah is desperate to hold it together, and inadvertently sends Miguel into the clutches of the very creatures she's meant to defeat.


Determined to save the love of her life, Mariah starts down the path destiny has laid out for her. But will it be enough to rescue Miguel, her people, and herself?

Amaranth Dawn is the first book of the Daughter of Zyanya seriesAvailable now on Amazon.

27 Jan 2018 - re-released Dec 2020

Mariah has chosen to become a vampire, but she can’t remember why.


Mariah can’t remember all the choices that brought her to the labyrithine caves of the vampire Sophus, but she does know dangerous secrets are hidden within her.


As she learns to control her powerful new body— and its bloodthirsty urges— Mariah discovers a unique ability to travel through a world of spirit, the key to remembering her past, and possibly the future. At first, it seems her path is simple: learn to control her bloodlust, find her missing husband, and return with him to raise their son.


But things are more complicated than they seem, and neither Sophus nor her husband’s captor is willing to let them go. Mariah must use whatever skills she can to find her husband and protect her still-mortal son, but will it be enough?

Aeonian Dreams is Book 2 of the Daughter of Zyanya series.

Available now on Amazon.



Forthcoming - Spring 2021

Everything seems darkest just before the dawn. 

Mariah has lost nearly everything she holds dear, and is still no closer to freeing her husband, her people, or herself, from the iron grip of the vampires Sophus and Theron. Determined to safeguard what little remains to her, Mariah has fallen into submission.

But destiny will not be thwarted. Mariah must find the will to overcome her captors before she looses anything more.

Abiding Destiny is the 3rd and final book of the Daughter of Zyanya series.

©2019 by Morgan J Muir. Proudly created with